2024 Exemplo Awards

logo for the exemplo capstone awards ceremony depicting an elephant with its trunk reaching upwards and beneath the words serve compassionately engage masterfully and live boldly

Student Life’s area of Student Engagement is comprised of five of the division’s departments that specialize in supporting the growth and development of students through active participation in experiential learning opportunities. These five departments are the Center for Service and Leadership (CSL), The University of Alabama Student Center, Student Involvement, Student Governance and Citizenship (SGA) and University Programs (UP). On April 9, 2024, Student Engagement held the 36th annual Exemplo Capstone Awards (formerly Service and Leadership Awards) to honor individual students, student organizations and full-time staff members who “serve compassionately, engage masterfully and live boldly.”

Awards were divided into five categories:

  1. Building Community
  2. Experiential Learning and Leadership
  3. Growth and Development
  4. Student Learning
  5. Success Beyond

See below for a list of achievements and honors achieved within the Capstone community.

Building Community Awards

  • Advocacy in Action Award – Minority Association of Pre-Medical Students
  • ABC Award of Excellence – Hannah D’Olimpio
  • Henry M. Lipsey Heart of Service Award – Alrale Willie
  • Excellence in Collaborative Programming – Emily-Kate Taylor, HallyUA and The UA Career Center

Experiential Learning and Leadership Awards

  • John L. Blackburn Advisor of the Year – Dr. Lingyan Kong
  • Will Byington Award for Student Officer of the Year – Praphull Kumar and Savannah Prefontaine
  • Star Bloom Volunteer of the Year Award – Leah Zahm
  • Barbara Grimes Selfless Service Award – Maddie Nix and Nate Smith
  • Spirit of UP Award – Eddie Coats

Growth and Development Awards

  • Outstanding New Organization Award – The Higher Education Assembly for Research in Tuscaloosa
  • Champion for Children’s Hospital Award – Rachel Frick
  • SGA DEI Passport Top Program Participation Award – Alpha Gamma Delta
  • SGA DEI Passport Outstanding Event Award – Adapted Athletics
  • SGA DEI Passport Top Individual Participation Award – Graham Roberts
  • UP Persistence Award – Drew Merriweather
  • Rick Funk Award – John Gilmer

Student Learning Awards

  • Organization Event of the Year – Indian Student Association of Tuscaloosa (Diwali)
  • Capstone Innovation Award – Grow the Game
  • Outstanding Vanguard Student Award – Aislinn Wilkerson and Isaac Kirkpatrick
  • Outstanding Vanguard Peer Mentor – Sanija-Lanea Alkins
  • Outstanding Tide2 Student Award – Devin McDaniel and Dee Freeman
  • Outstanding Tide2 Peer Collaborator Award – Josie Ricketts and Chad Wright Jr.
  • Community Partner Award – Wings of Grace
  • UP Spotlight Award – Gracelyn Hatchett, Taylor Branick, Crystal Nichols and Vivian Longino

Success Beyond

  • Outstanding Advocacy Organization Award – Queer Student Association
  • Outstanding Service Organization Award – The Eco Council “E-Co”
  • Outstanding Cultural and Identity Based Organization Award – South Asian Culture Club
  • Outstanding Arts and Entertainment Organization Award – UA Museum Club
  • Outstanding Religious or Spiritual Organization Award – UA Vedic Society
  • Outstanding Club Sports Organization Award – Alabama Water Ski Team
  • Outstanding Political Organization Award – Vote Everywhere
  • Outstanding Social/Fraternal Organization Award – Greek Programming Board
  • Outstanding Academic Organization Award – Higher Education Assembly of Research in Tuscaloosa
  • Outstanding Honors Organization Award – National Society of Leadership and Success
  • Outstanding Recreational/Athletic Organization Award – Alabama Barbell Club
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Organization Award – Graduate Student Association
  • Outstanding Military Organization Award – S.H.I.N.E. Spreading Hope, Inspiration and Education
  • Outstanding Professional Organization Award – Minority Association of Pre-Medical Students
  • David L. Phelps Organization of the Year Award – International Students Association
  • UP Graduating Senior Recognition – Drew Merriweather, JeTori Samples, Sejal Thaman, Kylie Wagner, Tiyana Young, Jacob Dunaway, Crystal Nichols, Tre Turner, Anuki Wickramanayake
  • Daniel Nielsen Exceptional Change Award – Chad Wright Jr. and Katerina Werkhaven
  • The UNLESS Award – Dalis Lampkins
  • Stephanie Shamblin Award – Dr. Steven Hood